First day of classes

Was quite boring, actually.

I only had one class–Norwegian life and society, and it wasn’t until 4:15 PM. So I went skiing in the morning, which went slightly better than Saturday. We skiied across Sognsvann Lake, I only fell down twice, and we ended up on the wrong trail so we climbed up the side of the mountain to reach the cross-country ski trail. Yep, fun times.

In the afternoon Isaac (also from the U, also in CBS) and I went to the university to buy some of our textbooks. It was not easy. Of course everything in the bookstore was in Norwegian, and they don’t have it set up as nicely as at the U, where you just have to find the course code in order to find your textbooks. I couldn’t figure out any order to how the books were organized. Isaac and I wandered around the bookstore and hunted for the textbooks for our Norwegian life and society class for a while. We were unsuccessful, so I eventually asked somebody at the help desk. Turns out the book was sitting on a table I had walked past multiple times. Good work, Blalock.

We then went to class (Isaac’s in the same class), which was an hour and 45 minutes long. While I would rather have a class only once a week for a long time than multiple times a week for a short amount of time, it’s still a long time to focus for. In class we learned about Norwegian history until 1814. I like history and I thought I would find it interesting, but our lecturer was very dry and the information he presented was vague, so I felt like I didn’t get a whole lot out of lecture. Oh well. Let’s hope the textbook clears it up a bit.

Also, of course our lecturer would occasionally throw around crazy Norwegian names. He was going to write some of the important ones up on the board, but turns out there was no chalk, so none of us actually knew the names of the people he was mentioning.

Let’s hope they don’t appear on the final.

Well that was boring, let’s move onto something more interesting.

On Saturday I went with my buddy group to Vigeland Sculpture Park which is in Frogner Park (in Oslo). Pretty self-explanatory–a park with 212 sculptures, all designed by Gustav Vigeland. It’s actually rather pretty, and I’m planning on going back there in the spring when everything will be green. I imagine then it will be quite beautiful.

There are a few sections of the park–the Bridge (see above), the Fountain, the Monolith (see below), and the end of the park which contains a sundial and the Wheel of Life. We didn’t walk to the end of the park, but we did walk to all the other sections.

On Sunday we went to the National Gallery in Oslo, which has a bunch of paintings, including Edvard Munch’s “The Scream” and “Madonna.”

I brought my camera along, figuring I would take a picture of “The Scream” while there.

Turns out you can’t take pictures in the Munch Room (you can take pictures everywhere else in the gallery as long as the flash is off), which is where most of Munch’s paintings are, including “The Scream.”

They never said you couldn’t take a picture of “The Scream” from outside the room, however… šŸ˜‰

Unfortunately it didn’t turn out well since it’s pretty blurry. But I’m still keeping it as proof I saw “The Scream” in person.

Looking ahead to the rest of the week, I have no class on Tuesday or Wednesday. Huzzah!

Oh, since I never posted it, here’s my class schedule:
Monday, 4:15-6:00 PM – Norwegian life and society
Tuesday, 9:15-12:00 PM – Norwegian language
Thursday, 9:15-12:00 PM – Norwegian language
Thursday, 12:15-2:00 PM – Norwegian music

Yeah that’s right, no class on Wednesdays or Fridays šŸ™‚

And no science classes. Which means no labs, too. Lots of free time for me this semester! It will be a lovely break.

Means lots of time for me to go skiing.

Leave a Reply

