Holmenkollen, coffee, and Norwegian friends part II

I honestly am not in a writing mood right now so I can’t think of a clever starting sentence. So I’m just going to resort to being dull and to-the-point.

The World Snowboarding Championships (WSC) are in Oslo this year from February 12-19.

Told you it would be dull and to-the-point.

Anyways, WSC needs a lot of volunteers to set things up for the championships, so I decided to volunteer (along with a bunch of my friends). We figured it would be a great way to meet people, and plus we get access to all the events. And free food.

Food. Yum.

When I signed up, I asked to be placed in catering, just like all the rest of my friends. All of my friends were placed in catering, and I was placed in… Rigg. The description for Rigg on the website is something along the lines of “building the arena and putting up signs.”

Read: hard manual labor.

I really think that you should be able to indicate on the application whether you are fit for hard manual labor. Questions should include:
1. Are you a weakling? Yes, absolutely.
2. Can you carry heavy things? Not without feeling as if my arms are detaching from my body.
3. Are you in good physical condition? Not really.
4. How much experience do you have with hard manual labor? Are you kidding me? None.

If these questions had been on my application, I obviously wouldn’t have been placed into Rigg, since I’m clearly unfit for hard manual labor.

Oh well, I’ll probably be a beast by the end of the championships.

Anyways, I received an e-mail asking if anybody could work on the 31st and 2nd. They said it was fine if you could for even just part of the shifts, since they had a shortage of people on those shifts. I told them I could come later in the shifts after my classes.

Tuesday morning I had Norwegian from 9-12, then I booked it home to eat and change. I realized that I would be outside for a long time, so I put on as many layers of clothes as I could. I ended up wearing three pairs of socks, winter boots, long underwear pants, blue jeans, athletic pants over my blue jeans, a T-shirt, my HH fleece, my winter jacket, then a hat and gloves. I looked like a marshmallow, and I was really toasty when indoors.

Dressing took forever since I had so many clothes on. Afterwards I had to make my way over to Holmenkollen by 2 PM, which is where my shift was. You might remember that Holmenkollen is where the huge scary ski jump is, but you might not. No hard feelings if you don’t.

It’s kind of a pain to get to Holmenkollen from Kringsjå (where I live). It’s not hard, but it does take a while. Basically I have to take line 3 of the T-bane (the subway) heading towards Mortensrud and get off at Majorstuen. Majorstuen is the first stop closest to Kringsjå where all the lines of the subway stop. I get off at Majorstuen, cross to the other side of the station, and then take line 1 of the T-bane heading towards Frognerseteren and get off at the Holmenkollen stop. Since line 1 is the longest T-bane line, it takes a while to get to Holmenkollen.

If I ever get around to making videos, I’ll devote one video to pronouncing the names of the subway stops for you. They’re really fun to say, especially my personal favorite, Forskningsparken.

Luckily for me, WSC sent everybody a map of where to go once in Holmenkollen. The map pointed to the Ski Jump/Ski Jump Museum, so I headed over that way. That was tough, let me tell you. Holmenkollen is on the side of the mountain, so I had to walk up some pretty steep inclines (covered in ice/snow, of course, since it’s Norway and salt doesn’t exist here) to get to the ski jump. I wasn’t sure exactly where to go once I got to the ski jump, so I just walked over to the ski jump and stood two feet away from it. Let me tell you, it looks scary in the pictures I took of it earlier, but it’s even worse when you stand next to it and can see exactly how steep the incline is. It’s very nearly straight down. I can’t even imagine going down it; it must be completely terrifying.

Some sick part of me wants to try it.

Luckily I have a sensible part of me that is terrified of heights and steep inclines, so obviously it will never happen.

I wandered around the ski jump, looking in vain for where I was supposed to be. Eventually I gave up and called the headquarters so that they could help me. The woman who answered the phone asked if I saw a red house. Nope. She then asked if I saw a white tent. I looked and directly in front of me was a white tent. Yep! She told me I should go there, so I walked over there to find out that it was definitely not the correct white tent.

I was determined to figure out for myself where I was supposed to be, so I just wandered around, looking for a red house and/or white tent. After a few minutes it was clear I was lost and had no idea where I was supposed to be.

Okay, part III!

Leave a Reply

