Sad skiing

Well, it looks like my days of cross-country skiing in Norway are over.

Since it snowed on Monday I thought the conditions for skiing might be a little better.

No. Completely wrong.

In fact, skiing was worse today than before Monday’s snow. Before Monday’s snow, all the trails were essentially ice. Not easy to ski on, let me tell you. Today there was a layer of slushy snow on top of ice, which gives you even less traction.

Skiing started off okay, but then I got to a slightly uphill portion. Very slightly uphill. Yet even though the ground was hardly going up, I was literally not moving. With each movement forward I made, I would slide backward. I finally figured out that I could move a bit better by double poling, so I did that. I was still moving extremely slowly, which made me feel like a child on skis.

I was planning on skiing down this one portion of mountain that I really like, since it’s not too difficult and generally a lot of fun. I skied to the bottom of the mountain… and saw that the entire trail leading up the mountain was pure ice. Since I can’t comprehend the fact that I can’t control my skis on ice, I said to myself, “Well, I’ll just ski up a little ways and then ski down to see how bad it is. If it’s not bad maybe I’ll ski all the way up the mountain.”

So I skied up a little ways then skied down. Yeah, it was bad. The whole way down was ice so I couldn’t slow down or even really turn. I made it to the bottom without falling, but then I had to turn onto the main track. Since I still couldn’t turn well, I ended up crossing my skis and falling over onto the slushy snow. Not so much fun.

I decided at this point that I couldn’t really do anything, since I could hardly move forward on level surfaces, and I couldn’t ski down hills because of the ice problem. I decided to head home, despite only being out for twenty minutes or so.

I was sad, especially since I realized that I probably won’t get the chance to cross-country ski here again. It’s been warm for a little over a week now, and the temperatures are supposed to be above freezing through at least Sunday.

Sigh. Well Norway, it’s been a lot of fun.

It’s sad too because when I first started skiing today I was grinning like a complete idiot. I’ve realized that I absolutely love skiing, and skiing today after not skiing for a long time was fun and made me realize how much I’ve missed it. I guess I’m just going to have to keep on missing it until December. And even then, skiing in Minnesota won’t be the same. No mountains there.

Now my skis are resting dejectedly in the corner, and I’m trying to figure out what to do with my free time now that I can’t ski.

Well, I suppose it does give me more time to plan trips…

Leave a Reply

