American food

When I checked my mailbox today, I found a slip to pick up a package.

My German friend Anne came with me and said she was jealous. She was even more jealous when she saw the size of the package. I was in disbelief, and the post office worker said, “You’re lucky.”

As soon as I got into my room I tore open the box, much like a child on Christmas. Getting a package in Oslo was basically like Christmas for me. I laughed every time I pulled something out of the box, because every item was a food from America, unknown of here in Oslo, and stuff that I have missed dearly:

1. Goldfish. I eat Goldfish like crazy. You know those huge, huge cartons of Goldfish? Yeah, I just buy those because I go through them so fast.

2. Kraft macaroni and cheese. The staple of every American’s childhood. ‘Nuff said.

3. Pasta Roni. Yum yum yum.

4. Ramen noodles. They do have Ramen here in Norway, fair enough, but it’s not quite the same as the American stuff. It’s funny because just this morning I was wanting American Ramen noodles.

5. Hot chocolate. It’s chocolate in liquid form, which automatically means it’s delicious.

6. Velveeta shells and cheese. If you’ve never had this stuff, try it immediately. I had my best friend try it a few years ago and she has loved it ever seen.

7. Snickers, Dove chocolate, Reese’s peanut butter cups, and Lifesavers Gummies. To be fair, they do have Snickers here in Norway, but I haven’t seen any of the other stuff.

8. Pringles. So much fun to do the duck lips with.

9. Campbell’s soup. I do love my soup.

10. Quaker’s granola bars. Good skiing snacks!

11. Milano cookies. I have to be careful with these, because otherwise I’ll eat the entire package in one sitting.

I told you it was a huge package! Before I was finished unpacking the box I started snacking on the Pringles, and afterwards I had a candy binge that made me feel a little ill. Then mac and cheese for dinner. Amazing 🙂 I’ve missed my weird American foods. And the labels all being in English.

2 responses to “American food

  1. Oh man, reading that list made me really hungry! I miss a lot of American foods too. You can find some things at the really nice supermarkets, but it’s always super-expensive because it’s imported. Whoever sent you that box must really love you! 🙂

    • Yes, she definitely does! 🙂 It was so nice to see all those foods again… plus now I have so much food that I won’t need to buy food for a few weeks now! haha

Leave a Reply

