Telemark skiing in Sudndalen, Norway – Part IV

I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could walk the next morning. Sure, I was stiff, but I was worried that I would have to limp around all day because my quads hurt so bad. Luckily that was not the case.

It snowed the night before which was great because the slopes were starting to become icy. Unfortunately, this made walking to the bus quite treacherous. See, the road to the bus was uphill and covered in ice, and the snow on top just made it more slippery. I was trying to walk up this one uphill section but failing miserably. A Norwegian girl further uphill saw I was struggling, said, “Here, Jennifer!” grabbed my hand, and pulled me up the hill. So many nice people 🙂

When we got to the ski resort I talked to this one guy I vaguely knew from the trip. I told him that I was happy I wasn’t too sore, to which he said, “Are you sure you’re doing it right?”

RUDE.

I was considering countering with some snarky comment like, “Well at least I didn’t give up and go back to normal alpine skiing because Telemark was too hard,” which is exactly what he did, but I kept my mouth shut.

Seriously though, some people.

I met up with Francisco and since our ski instructor seemed to have deserted us, we decided to walk over to our little bunny hill and start skiing by ourselves. We could have taken the T-bar lift up and skied down to the bunny hill but since neither of us cared for that lift, we decided to just walk.

I was confident that I would ski better that day, being less sore and having had some experience under my belt. So, I skied down and did my first turn…

And fell.

I fell a few more times once the next couple of runs, but eventually my muscles woke up and remember what they were supposed to do, at which point the turns became much easier. I magically stopped crossing my skis, for which I was grateful.

After a few runs our ski instructor showed up and told us that we had the morning to ski by ourselves, since he needed to go help with level 2. I was perfectly fine with that since I just wanted to practice what we had learned by myself. I went down the little bunny hill a few more times before gaining enough confidence to go to one of the main slopes.

I was cautious for the first few runs on the main slope, especially since parts of the slope were quite steep and icy, but eventually I gained enough confidence to ski down faster. And let me tell you, IT WAS SO MUCH FUN. It was at that point I realized why so many people love skiing, and it made me want to make skiing a regular hobby of mine.

We skied until lunch, at which point my knees started hurting a bit. I figured the break would help with my knees, and it did. Not for long though. Within a half hour my knees were really starting to ache, and I didn’t know how much longer I would be able to keep skiing for.

Our instructor appeared again and watched us ski for a bit, offering tips and suggestions to improve our technique. He saw that I was growing more comfortable with speed, so he told me that when I got to the bottom of the slope (which was relatively flat), I should ski on just one ski to work on balance.

Ha. Good joke.

He also said I could try sitting backwards while skiing downhill, to which he said, “It’s pretty easy.”

Yeah, don’t think so.

Our instructor eventually left us to go back to the level 2s, but not before I fell right in front of him. He always seemed amused when I fell, since he would always smile.

Cocky Norwegian.

No just kidding, he was very nice and not cocky at all.

I skied for a bit more by myself and at one point I passed a Norwegian who was on our trip. She said that she was very impressed with my skiing which was awesome to hear. Shortly after that my knees started hurting really badly, so I decided to take a break and watch the level 4 Telemark skiers. They were going off some jumps at the bottom of the slope, and then they worked on skiing downhill in partners. Then they skied backwards down the slope.

Come on. I can hardly ski forwards down the slope, and you guys are going backwards? Not fair.

I skied a few more runs before I had to stop because of my knees. I could no longer complete the turns since they would just give out halfway through the turn. Just before I was about to ski in, my instructor skied down the slope towards me. As he neared me, he turned to slow down, tripped, and then completely fell over.

YES, FINALLY.

It was funny too because after he fell, he just laid in the snow while he talked to me. He told me that I did “extremely well” for this being my first time downhill skiing, and that my Telemark turns were “quite good.”

Complimented by a Norwegian on skiing = lifetime achievement

I returned my skis, then it was time to return to Oslo. I was quite sad to say goodbye to everybody; it’s amazing how attached you can become to people in just two short days.

But man, was I glad to come home and sleep in my own bed.

The next day I was so sore that physically, I was almost unable to get out of bed. Walking was a little challenging but still manageable.

On Tuesday I was walking around campus when I ran into Vilde, one of the people who organized the event. She said that it sounded like I did very well with Telemark skiing, and apparently Ragnhild said I went from knowing scratch to Telemarking.

Well well, maybe there is Norwegian blood in me after all.

Seriously though, when can I go Telemark skiing again?

4 responses to “Telemark skiing in Sudndalen, Norway – Part IV

  1. Jenni, your posts always make me smile. I’m glad you’re having so much fun in Norway!
    Lots of love,
    Elise

  2. You commented on my mid century meal blog, so I thought I would check out and see who you are. I am so glad I did! I enjoyed reading your blog and will follow it. I have 2 sons in college currently, (not Norway but Pullman, WA…not quite the same.) I look forward to following your adventures!

Leave a Reply

