Wandering in London, England – England & Wales trip part II.I

When I landed in the UK, I had to fill out a landing card and answer a bunch of questions. One of the questions was concerning how long I would be in the UK. I wrote “10 days.” Now, after being in London for a day, I realized that I should have written “FOREVER.”

Seriously, LOVE LOVE LOVE this place.

Bright and early in the morning (April 3rd), I took a bus from Stansted into downtown London. I was so excited to be in London that I skipped down the aisle of the bus.

Don’t judge. Skipping is cool.

Because it was so early, there was only one other person on the bus besides me. The bus driver asked if I was going to Victoria coach station or Victoria train station; I said the former because that was the ticket I bought. He told me that it would be easier for me to navigate if I went to the train station since I was staying in London.

So saying that, he then proceeded to drop me off right in front of the train station instead of the coach station.

Brits. So nice.

Since it was only 9 AM by this point, I had a few hours until I could check into my hostel. I decided to spend the hours just wandering around, without a set destination in mind. I just walked out from Victoria train station and managed to find Buckingham Palace almost immediately.

Buckingham Palace was lovely, by the way. Also quite touristy, but that’s to be expected.

After Buckingham Palace, I went to the Wellington Arch, and from there, to Piccadilly Circus.

Oh, something I should mention. The fact that people drive on the lefthand side of the road in the UK freaks me out. Also, I’m still not used to it. I STILL look the wrong way when crossing the street (I’m writing this post a bit later than this happened, so I’ve been here for four days at time of writing). Thankfully in busy tourist areas, the words “look left” or “look right” are painted on the road so that tourists know which way to look when crossing the road.

If that wasn’t there, I surely would have died by now.

After Piccadilly Circus (which is like a smaller version of Times Square), I went over to Trafalgar Square. Trafalgar Square is one of my favorite places in London. It’s just so lovely, and I have a weak spot for fountains. I decided to sit in the square for a while to take a break since I was so tired, and it was during this point that I fell in love with London.

I will continue with part II tomorrow since I am so exhausted right now that I’m falling asleep at my keyboard.

2 responses to “Wandering in London, England – England & Wales trip part II.I

  1. Welcome to London! Hope you enjoy your time here, maybe I’ll see you if you hit up Leadenhall Market one lunchtime during the working week!

Leave a Reply

