Sleeping on buses in Galway, Ireland – Ireland adventure part II

“Well, I took a stroll on the old long walk
Of a day I-ay-I-ay
I met a little girl and we stopped to talk
Of a fine soft day I-ay”

Sorry, couldn’t control myself there. Those are lyrics from the song “The Galway Girl,” a song which has been stuck in my head since I arrived in Galway.

I took the bus to Galway from Belfast on the morning of April 14th. Despite the fact that I despise waking up early more than anything else in the entire universe, I took the 6 AM bus back to Dublin airport. From there I changed buses for one heading to Galway.

Luckily for me the bus trip in total was about five hours, and I slept for the entire time.

Have I mentioned that I’m stunningly good at sleeping on buses, trains, and planes? Because I am, especially with trains. With most trains I barely take a seat before I fall asleep.

I got into Galway around noon, and I was planning on checking into my hostel and just sleeping for a few hours because I was still exhausted. However, when I went to the hostel, they told me that check-in wasn’t until 3 PM (3 PM! 3 PM?! that’s insane!), so that wonderful idea was destroyed.

Also, it was quite funny trying to find my hostel. I knew the hostel was on Forster Street but I didn’t know what number, because apparently the buildings on the street aren’t numbered. Yes, I agree, it’s very helpful. Anyways, I found Forster Street quite easily but then wandered around for a bit before I found the hostel.

Where was the hostel? It was actually right next to the bus station that I came in on. Good work, Jennifer.

Since I couldn’t sleep, I decided to buy some food and then wander around the city. The first thing I ran into was Eyre Square, where a large rally was going on. I ate my lunch there and then avoided all the rally-ers like the plague, and headed off in a random direction, right towards the shopping center. For some reason that is beyond me, I always manage to find the shopping center in whatever city I arrive in within minutes.

I don’t even like shopping centers. Too many people.

I always manage to find the McDonald’s rather quickly.

I made it through the shopping center then came upon the Claddagh, which was formerly a fishing village. I walked out to the water and the beach since the view was gorgeous.

By the way, Galway has a ton of swans. A ton of them! I saw them all over on the river. It wasn’t until I saw them in Galway that I realized just how big swans are.

I would not want to be chased by one of them.

Anyways, walking out to the water took some time, since I walked for a long ways out. Afterwards I walked back up the River Corrib, found a nice cathedral, and then bought some fish and chips.

After eating, I made my way back over to the hostel since I was feeling quite sick. It wasn’t I’m-going-to-throw-up-sick, it was I’m-so-exhausted-I-might-pass-out-right-here sick. Luckily for me it was past 3 PM by this point, so I checked in and then took a nap.

And was woken up maybe half hour later by the three other girls staying in my room because they were quite loud.

Rude.

The rest of my night I spent putzing around on the Internet. I thought it appropriate since I was in Ireland to watch “P.S. I Love You,” so I did that then went to bed.

And was woken up maybe a half hour later by the three other girls staying in my room. Again. Let’s just establish that by this point it was probably around 2 AM.

Sometimes I really hate people. This was definitely one of those times.

It didn’t help that the girls were drunk, so they ended up being mean to each other which resulted in one of them crying, and then they made up and I just wanted to punch somebody in the face. I was really considering yelling, “Shut up, just shut up!” but I didn’t, since I figured they would be heading off to bed soon.

And luckily they did.

It’s just amazing to me though. It’s weird too because the night before, when I was staying in Belfast, I was in a 10-person room that was mostly guys. I went to bed early since I had to wake up at quarter to five the next morning. When I went to bed there were two French guys in the room. When they saw I went to bed, they turned the light off for me and when they talked, they did so in a whisper.

I was touched. It’s really quite nice that they turned the light off, and I didn’t expect them to do so.

I would also like to point out that nobody woke me up when they came back that night, which is incredible since there were seven other people who came back after I went to bed.

And yet when I stay in a room with only three other girls, they manage to wake me up not just once, but three times (they woke me up twice while napping).

Rude. Rude, rude, rude.

The next part is more exciting I promise, with no more rude people and some famous cliffs, or something.

Leave a Reply

