Norway is freaking expensive

I know I complain basically all the time that Norway is expensive, though I haven’t really given you any examples. So I’m going to do it now, using milk.

I spent approximately 24 NOK on 1.75 liters of milk today.

Because that won’t make sense to the majority of you, it means I spent about $4 USD on 0.46 gallons of milk. That means I would pay about $8.70 USD for a gallon of milk here in Norway.

I think I made my point.

10 responses to “Norway is freaking expensive

  1. I know what you mean, Jennifer. When I first moved here I was always calculating how much everything cost in dollars. But after living here for 10 years, I see the flip side of higher taxes. Medical and dental care are free for children until they are 18 years old, all medical care for having a child are covered by the government, 10-months paid maternity leave, when our out-of-pocket medical expenses in a year reach $200 we get reimbursed for anything above that, and all people can go to college if they want to. All that makes buying an $8 gallon of milk worth it 🙂

    • Yes, this is all very true. Plus the fact that Norwegians earn comparatively high salaries compared to the price they’re paying for food, housing, etc. so it’s actually not that bad for them. But coming in as a foreigner who doesn’t benefit from things such as medical and dental care, and not earning a Norwegian salary, it’s a bit of a blow 😛 although I suppose I can’t complain about the free education. And there is cheap food that can be found; it just isn’t dairy products, which is very sad for somebody who grew up in Wisconsin and is used to cheap dairy.

      • I feel your pain 😉 My first two years here I was in the same boat. I remember how much fun it was to go shopping when I went back to the States for visits. Actually a bit dangerous… everything seems so affordable that I can get a bit out of hand 🙂

      • Yeah I’m actually really worried about that for when I go back home… especially with food. I just see myself going crazy and attempting to eat everything that I’ve missed in the first day 😛

      • Hahaha it’s so true! One of my friends is studying abroad in New Zealand right now, where it’s also really expensive, and she’s also worried that she’ll go crazy eating when she comes back home.

Leave a Reply

