Belgian waffles in Brussels, Belgium – Great European tour part II

Not all travelling experiences are unicorns and rainbows, but Belgian waffles are a unicorns-and-rainbows type of experience.

I treated myself to an early lunch of Belgian waffle with strawberries and chocolate syrup, then attempted to eat it in Grand Place. I say attempted because the fork they gave me was the crappiest eating utensil I’ve ever had the misfortune of eating with. It doesn’t even deserve to be called a fork. It was more like a scrap of plastic recycled from the making of other actual forks. Whoever decided this “fork” was a good idea should try eating a Belgian waffle with it then have his face shoved in chocolate syrup, so that he understand what his crappy fork did to me.

I gave up trying to eat the waffle with the fork and just picked it up to eat it. This worked better, but I ended up getting chocolate sauce all over my face, hands, and shirt.

Good grief.

Even though the waffle was a pain and a half to eat, it was seriously delicious. Had I possessed a proper eating utensil, it would have been a favorite memory of Europe. As it is, it’s one of the messiest memories of Europe for me. Seriously though, if I lived in Belgium I would be the unhealthiest person alive because I would just eat waffles all the time. They’re that good.

I next wandered over to Manneken Pis, Brussel’s most famous attraction. As you can see from the picture, it’s a fountain of a boy peeing.

Who on Earth designed this thing, and why?

Since it was a hot, sunny day, I stopped as soon as I found an open grocery store (today was a holiday in Belgium, so only clothing stores were open, for some reason). The cashier spoke to me in French and seemed really grateful for my purchase, saying “merci” multiple times.

I just smiled, having taken Spanish in high school and therefore knowing no French.

After hydrating, I came upon this thing, which is possibly the best thing I’ve ever seen. I’m not entirely sure what it is—a newspaper/magazine umbrella, or something else? But anyways, the important thing here is all the legs coming out of it. I just don’t understand.

Next I wandered over to the Royal Palace, then next through the grounds facing the palace. At the end of the grounds I found a fountain, and directly behind that, the Parliament building. As I walked back to my hostel, I stumbled upon this beautiful cathedral, so I sat outside and soaked up the sun for a few minutes.

Afterwards I headed back, being tired and having seen enough for one day. I was going to publish this post then, but unfortunately I didn’t have an appropriate adapter so I couldn’t charge my computer. I also didn’t have contact solution which was unfortunate. But all-in-all, today was a much, much better day than the previous day, and I did like Brussels considerably more than I had the day before.

9 responses to “Belgian waffles in Brussels, Belgium – Great European tour part II

  1. Glad that you did enjoy Brussels! If you look up Manneken Pis in Wikipedia, you will find out what he is all about. It’s actually one of the most popular attractions of our capital, although Brussels has a lot more to offer. By the way, since you were at the Belgian Parliament, you were only a couple of blocks away from where I live! 🙂

    • Ah, what an interesting story! It’s still quite a funny statue. And man, I didn’t realize I was so close to you; how awesome! Which language do you use more often: Dutch or French?

      • I speak Dutch. But I also know French and English, some German, Swedish and Danish.

    • I would like to go to Bruges someday! Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to do so during this trip, and Brussels was easier to get to since that’s where I flew into.

  2. Okay, I’ll definitely remember to bring my own fork with me when I go there in April. Because I’m going there for the waffles. Cheers! 😉

Leave a Reply

