Sleeping in Starbucks in Edinburgh, Scotland – Final European tour part II

One problem with Ryan Air is that the flights tend to be at inconvenient times – either very early in the morning or very late at night. When I left Dublin, I flew on a Ryan Air flight to Edinburgh, Scotland, which left at around 6 AM. This meant I woke up around 3 AM in order to get to the airport in time.

So how many hours of sleep did I get? Oh, about an hour and a half, or so.

I felt like death when I woke up.

Luckily for me, the already short flight landed ahead of time, so I only got about 15 minutes sleep on the plane. I then took a bus from the airport into more central Edinburgh, then I walked to my hostel.

Because it was early in the morning, I couldn’t check in yet, so I left my stuff with the receptionist and set out to find somewhere to sleep.

The guy at reception gave me a free map of Edinburgh which had Starbucks locations marked on it. I’ve seen people crashed in Starbucks before so I figured it probably wouldn’t be that weird if I slept there.

On the walk to the Starbucks, I passed an old cemetery which looked intriguing so I quick popped in and out. Then I was back on my mission to sleep.

You know how when you hardly sleep, you’re so exhausted that the only thing you can think about is sleeping? That’s exactly how I was at that moment. Exploring the new city was out of the question. I needed sleep.

I found the Starbucks, ordered a drink, then sat down in a comfy chair and read my book (Jane Eyre, which I bought for 3 Euros in Dublin… what a deal!) as I drank my frappuccino. After I finished my drink, I continued to read for a while because the book was so good.

Eventually though, I passed out for about an hour. When I woke up, I could check into my hostel, so I booked it over there and crashed in an actual bed.

When I woke up some hours later, it was late afternoon and I needed food. I headed outside, by which time it was raining, and found a grocery store where I bought some food and other supplies. Because the weather was not conducive to taking pictures, I figured I could just wander around Edinburgh the next day.

So I headed back to the hostel. By the way, did I mention that the hostel was in a church? Yeah, that’s right, it was a converted church. It was really awesome and unique, since I’ve never slept in a hostel-church before.

The next morning I set out to explore Edinburgh. Because the map I had been given was not high-quality, I ended up becoming confused and lost. Eventually though I found my way up to Edinburgh Castle.

And when I say up, I mean up, because Edinburgh Castle is on top of this massive hill randomly in the middle of Edinburgh.

Anyways, I saw a guy dressed in a kilt playing the bagpipes in front of the castle, which is exactly what I wanted to see. I would not have felt complete leaving Scotland without seeing somebody playing the bagpipes. I walked closer to the castle but because you had to pay to enter and I’ve already been inside enough castles for a while, I didn’t go inside. Inside I wandered down the Royal Mile, soaking up the beautiful architecture. I also wandered through some of the shops.

After I grew bored of looking at kilts and Scotland T-shirts, I walked down the hill, coming across the Olympic rings. Back on level ground, I came to the National Gallery and the Scott Monument. The Scott Monument was built in commemoration of Sir Walter Scott, who is one of Scotland’s most famous novelists.

Right across from the Scott Monument was a Marks and Spencer, which is a great store. So I stocked up on some food there, went back to the hostel and grabbed my computer, then headed to a Starbucks to use their free WiFi.

Gotta love Starbucks and free WiFi. My hostel had free WiFi but I couldn’t connect to it for some mysterious reason, and I really needed to book my future hostels.

Afterwards I walked back to the hostel through the pouring rain. Oh, Scotland.

2 responses to “Sleeping in Starbucks in Edinburgh, Scotland – Final European tour part II

    • Thanks, and I’m so jealous! You’ll love Scotland; it’s absolutely beautiful. Pack for rainy weather though 😉

Leave a Reply

